Symmetries and Integrability of Difference Equations (SIDE) VII

Melbourne, Australia
July 10th - July 14th, 2006

SIDE is a series of biennial conferences devoted to the study of integrable difference equations and related topics such as ordinary and partial difference equations, analytic difference equations, orthogonal polynomials and special functions, symmetries and reductions, difference geometry, integrable discrete systems on graphs, integrable dynamical mappings, discrete Painlevé equations, singularity confinement, algebraic entropy, complexity and growth of multivalued mappings, representations of affine Weyl groups, quantum mappings and field theories on space-time lattices.

Invited Speakers:

  • R.J. Baxter
  • Australian National University, Canberra, Australia
  • J.J. Duistermaat
  • Utrecht University, The Netherlands
  • P. Forrester
  • The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • R.G. Halburd
  • Loughborough University, UK
  • U. Pinkall
  • Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
  • H. Sakai
  • The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • T. Tokihiro
  • The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • M. van der Put
  • University of Groningen, The Netherlands
  • A. Zelevinsky
  • Northeastern University, Boston, USA


    The conference will feature invited lectures, general contributed sessions and poster sessions. Themes covered include:

  • Integrability testing
  • Discrete geometry and visualization
  • Laurent phenomena and cluster algebras
  • Ultra-discrete systems
  • Random matrix theory
  • Algebraic-geometric approaches to integrability
  • Yang-Baxter equations
  • Quantum and classical integrable systems
  • Difference Galois theory

  • Participants

    Titles and Abstracts of Talks and Posters


    Map (showing accommodation and lecture venue)

    Conference Schedule:

    Note: On Saturday, July 15, there will be a one-day `side' meeting which involves additional lectures by the plenary speaker Professor J.J. Duistermaat. Further details may be found here (pdf).



    Travel Information:


    John A.G. Roberts  (UNSW)
    Wolfgang K. Schief (UNSW)

    Scientific Committee:

    Nalini Joshi (The University of Sydney)
    Frank Nijhoff (University of Leeds)
    Reinout Quispel (La Trobe University)
    Colin Rogers (UNSW)


    We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of the

    ARC Centre of Excellence for Mathematics and Statistics of Complex Systems (MASCOS)
    ARC Complex Open Systems Research Network (COSNet)
    Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI)
    Journal of Physics A, IOP